Tourist Attractions

Lake Titicaca, La Paz

Accelerated Mobile version

Lake Titicaca
Lake Titicaca Lake Titicaca Lake Titicaca Lake Titicaca

Titicaca lake is located three hours by bus from La Paz. It is 283 meters deep and has a total extension of 176 kilometers by 70 kilometers.

It is the highest navigable lake in the world. At a height of 3810 meters above the sea level. A portion of the lake belongs to Bolivia and the other one to Peru. The lake is divided into two major basins, named "Lago Mayor del Titicaca" (Major Lake of the Titicaca) and "Lago Menor del Titicaca" (Minor Lake of the Titicaca).

The Major Lake or Chuchito Lake, has blueish-sweet waters and is surrounded by beautiful scenery filled with mountains and snowy peaks, which remain covered with snow because of the intense cold in the mountain range region. The islands, which are splattered with archaeological remains, provide tangible proof of the domain that Aymara civilizations have had over this area.

The Minor Lake or Winay Marka Lake, has an incredible and panoramic view of the Cordillera Real (Royal Mountain Range). This part of the lake gives travelers a chance to visit some tiny islands. These are still populated by the Aymara, most of whom live from fishing. The entire coast of the lake is connected to several natural areas that have "totorales" (patches of bulrush), which are also home to different species of birds such as ducks.

In the area that surround the Minor Lake, the Tiwanaku culture reached a great deal of development. Throughout the region there is a predominant presence of the Aymara people, who have kept their own traditional forms of life and cultural values that date back to the time of their ancestors.

The Titicaca Lake, also known as "The Sacred Lake of the Incas", is a great tourist attraction for nature lovers. It is a perfect place to enjoy a spectacular view of the snowy hills of the mountain range that contrast with the blue waters.

The most typical species of fish include the following: suches (Suchy - Quechua Word, given to a species of fish native of the Titicaca Lake) carachis, bogas (Boga - Scientific Name: Sparus box, a small type of blue fish with golden stripes and very thin teeth), umantos, and ispis (Small type of fish with very thin body) and certain species of birds, such as: wallatas or wild geese.


Tiwanaku, Huatajata, Copacabana

Island of the Sun, Suriki Island, Island of the Moon or Koati, Kewaya or Kala Uta Island, Pre-Columbian Cultivation Terraces, Sampaya, Yampupata.

Recommended Tours:




Recent reviews of this article


No recent reviews

Add a review: