The Main Plaza Cathedral's facade reflects a mestizo fusion of Spanish Baroque and indigenous architectural styles.
Around 1605, according to the historical data gathered by the architect Carlos Lavayen, the master carpenter Sebastian Montes had participated in the construction of San Agustin's simple church and began the construction of the main chapel. However, this work was unconcluded and with the risk of falling. That is why in 1619 the Town council, of the Villa of Oropeza (ancient name of the city) summoned architect Juan of Canedo to rim the walls of the main chapel and vessel. This work was concluded by Domingo del Bazo toward 1630. In 1701 the construction of the main church began, which is today the Metropolitan Cathedral.